Zaria and Jema’a Top Kaduna LGAs Fiscal Transparency Programme

The Kaduna State Government has approved the disbursement of N152.4m in performance grants to the 23 local government councils in the state.

The councils were awarded these fiscal incentives after assessments under the Local Government Fiscal Transparency, Accountability and Sustainability (LFTAS) programme.

Zaria and Jema’a local councils got the highest LFTAS incentives of N9.94m and N9.27m respectively, according to figures released in Kaduna today. They are followed by Kaduna South, Lere, Giwa, Kaduna North, Kagarko, Zangon-Kataf, Soba, Sabon-Gari, Chikun, Ikara, Jaba, Kauru, Kachia, Kaura, Kajuru, Kudan, Makarfi, Birnin Gwari, Sanga, Igabi, and Kubau.

The LFTAS programme was introduced by the Kaduna State Executive Council in June 2018 to strengthen intergovernmental fiscal coordination and support good practice in fiscal behaviour and standards across the 23 local government councils in the state.

At its meeting today, the State Executive Council considered the report of the independent verification agent PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) on the five disbursement-linked indicators (DLIs) on which the local government councils were assessed.

The Executive Council noted that the LFTAS programme is helping to promote reforms in local government administration through improvements in budget planning and preparation, improved public procurement system and adherence to policy documents. The Council, therefore, approved payment of N152.4m as the first tranche performance grant to the 23 LGAs.

Muyiwa Adekeye
Special Adviser to the Governor (Media & Communication)
8th February 2021

LFTAS incentives earned by the 23 LGCs in Kaduna State

S/N LGC LFTAS Incentive
1 Zaria 9,941,000
2 Jema’a 9,271,000
3 Kaduna South 9,266,000
4 Lere 8,753,000
5 Giwa 8,718,000
6 Kaduna North 8,713,000
7 Kagarko 8,101,000
8 Zangon Kataf 7,751,000
9 Soba 7,621,000
10 Sabon Gari 7,471,000
11 Chikun 7,091,000
12 Ikara 6,738,000
13 Jaba 6,436,000
14 Kauru 6,111,000
15 Kachia 5,936,000
16 Kaura 5,441,000
17 Kajuru 5,184,000
18 Kudan 4,461,000
19 Makarfi 4,286,000
20 Birnin Gwari 4,161,000
21 Sanga 3,996,000
22 Igabi 3,496,000
23 Kubau 3,466,000

Share on 

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to content