About the State


Kaduna State

Lord Frederick Lugard, the Governor-General (1914-1919) of Nigeria, moved the Northern Region's capital from Zungeru to Kaduna. In 1967, Kaduna became the North Central State's capital, created from the Northern Region. By 1976, General Murtala Mohammed gave the state its name.

In 1987, the military administration of General Ibrahim Babangida created the state of Katsina from Kaduna. Interestingly, the Nok tribe, one of Africa's earliest civilisations, is located within the area that makes up Kaduna.

The state slogan is "The Centre of Learning" because it is home to several prestigious institutions. The Nigerian Defence Academy (NDA), Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), Nigerian College of Aviation, Barewa College and Nuhu Bamalli Polytechnic, to name a few.

From the colonial era to the contemporary period, Kaduna has maintained a reputation as a state with a huge pull factor. Numerous tribes around Nigeria have settled in Kaduna and called it their home for years. Till today, the state continues to be a hub for cosmopolitanism.

27 May



Total Area


Population (2020 est.)


Local Government Areas


GDP (2019 est.) 


IGR (2020)

No. 1

In Doing Business
World Bank, (2018) Doing Business in Nigeria

Past Governors

Ramalan Yero

2012 - 2015

Patrick Yakowa

2010 - 2012

Namadi Sambo

2007 - 2010

Ahmed Makarafi

1999 - 2007

Newsletter Subscription

Skip to content